Manchester City Boss Pep Guardiola Named LMA Manager Of The Year

Manchester City's Pep Guardiola has been named Premier League Director of the Year for this year.

Guardiola led City to winning the Premier League title for the third time in four seasons, 12 points behind closest rivals Manchester United and the League Cup for the fourth time in a row.

The club also won the Carabao Cup this season and will face Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League Final on Saturday.

The other five directors in contention are Leeds' Marcelo Bielsa, Daniel Farke of Norwich City, Emma Hayes of Chelsea, David Moyes of West Ham and Brendan Rodgers of Leicester.

“I am delighted to win the LMA of the Year award for the second time,” said Guardiola, who previously won it in 2017-18.

“To me, such a special trophy to win because it was voted for by my fellow managers. An award like this is only possible if the manager is surrounded by senior professionals.

“They were great players for my team - their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that was the biggest challenge we've ever faced.

“And my staff also deserves the highest praise. I am very fortunate to have a team of people giving everything they have every day to make sure Manchester City is the best.

"This award is for them and sharing it with them."

Sir Alex Ferguson, LMA Executive Committee Member added: “In addition to being a truly talented manager and leader, you always show great humility and composure, and I am sure your family should be very proud of you.”

Post a Comment